The USA's plan for T&F success in Beijing

• The USA's plan for T&F success in Beijing

I just saw a news report on the HDNet World Report about the poor air quality in Beijing, the way that the Chinese government is cooking the air quality results to make it look more favorable, and the impact on athletes' health and performance competing outdoors in the dirty air.

But what was most interesting, that will really impact our track team in their competition with the USA this summer is what the USOC plan to do to give their athletes a competitive advantage. No US athletes will live in the Olympic Village. They will only come into Beijing for their event, and leave after the event, every day to avoid having to breathe the air.

And get this. Instead of staying in Beijing, US track and field athletes will live and train in Dalion, a Chinese city over 300 miles away from Beijing. They will fly in an out every day only for actual competition. The triathlon team will live and train in Seoul, Korea over 600 miles away, and fly in on the day of the event. The swimming and modern pentathlon team will be even further away during the Games, in Singapore, over 3000 miles away. They will fly in on the day of the event and will only be outdoors during competition.

This is where the US's financial advantage over Jamaica will bear fruit. Does anyone know what the the JAAA plan to do for our athletes, given for the very first time that we have the ability for the first time, in clean air conditions, to defeat the US and win gold in so many events?

Could some kind forumite in Jamaica pass this info on to Kingston's' sports editors, and the officials at the JAA, and even to Donald Quarrie, who I hear is working for athlete performance the JAAA, or even Howard Aris?

Thanks,

It will not change the outcome and the USA will be beaten just the same.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Let's hope the nuances of air travel take their toll on the US athletes.

Maybe we should post this on the T&F Forum.

Jangle, so what make you think Asafa, Bolt, Campbell have different lungs than everybody else, including the Americans? Smog will affect performance. Any organization that plans for it will be successful, compared to other organizations that have no plan for it. I hope JAAA has a plan.

Mosiah, so where is this T&F Forum? I thought this was it.

JAAA plan....

Originally posted by DweetSweet View Post
          Jangle, so what make you think Asafa, Bolt, Campbell have different lungs than everybody else, including the Americans? Smog will affect performance. Any organization that plans for it will be successful, compared to other organizations that have no plan for it. I hope JAAA has a plan.

Mosiah, so where is this T&F Forum? I thought this was it.
          Deep breathing is banned.

Air quality should not affect sprints significantly.

http://disc.yourwebapps.com/Indices/113916.html#183174

Check it!