• 'Asafa can't beat my son'

'Asafa can't beat my son'

Richard Morais, Star Writer

Wellesley and Jennifer Bolt, parents of Usain at home - Ricahrd Morais
    WESTERN BUREAU
    Former world-record holder, Asafa Powell will never beat the new holder - Usain Bolt.

At least that's what Bolt's mother Jennifer says. And as they say, mom knows best.
    Mrs Bolt said her son is too focused and can manage the crowd, the criticism, the big occasions and, unlike Asafa, can never be intimidated by anyone.

"Bolt will beat him, there is no way Asafa can win," she said when THE STAR visited Bolt's family in Sherwood Content, Trelawny, yesterday. "Asafa (is) too nervous and that is what is failing him now."

She believes that when it comes to the big occasion, Asafa will crack under the pressure, but says her son is a survivor.
    "He has gone through it before, so he knows what it feels like," Mrs Bolt explained.

Usain Bolt knocked 0.02 seconds off Powell's 9.74s to set his name in the record books Saturday night as the fastest man in the world.

His parents, and literally everyone in Sherwood Content, were elated.
    Powell hailed Bolt's historic achievement yesterday but vowed that he would reclaim the world record. "I know I can run in the 9.6s," Powell said in a statement.

But Mrs Bolt advises that if Powell is harbouring thoughts of taking back the spotlight, it would be best for him to keep those thoughts to himself.
    "Him must tek time and talk and don't say so mek anybody hear," she warns Powell. "Him have to keep it a secret, 'cause if Bolt know, Bolt will prepare for him."

The dressmaker says she is confident her son will win gold in the sprint double in the Beijing Olympics in August and at the World Championships next year.

Bolt's father, Wellesley, recalls the final moments before his son's record-breaking run.

"When the race false-start, I began to fret 'cause I know the weather condition was not one he was very comfortable with. When it started the second time, I heard that he had a good start then I hear, 'Gay is gaining', then 'Bolt is moving away'. I didn't hear the end of the race because I started screaming because I know he couldn't be caught."

William Knibb School (WKMHS) Class Two 200m boys' finalist Davion Wint, who lives in the Trelawny district, said, "I am going to work harder knowing that my community member is the world record holder. It will make all of us at his past school work harder."

Usain's neighbour, George Lewin, said, "From he was growing I knew he had the spirit in him to do anything. We are proud of him."

Another neighbour, Beverly Farquharson, said: "From he was small him used to train, him used to run from here to Windsor and back (about a two-kilometre distance), the mountain and the breeze help him, we proud of him."

Trelawny Custos Roylan Barrett added to the avalanche of tributes.
    "I was not feeling well and remembered about the race and turned to the BBC. Immediately I heard the news, I felt better, knowing that a young person from my parish can perform such a fantastic feat," Barrett said.

Usain at 10 years. - Contributed
    Eight-year-old Usain and his sister Christine - Contributed
    Last edited by Tilla; June 2, 2008, 09:24 PM.

The difference between these two is in the order of 1/100th of a second. One bad start and any one of the two can easily defeat the other.

Both Asafa & Usain have had stage fright moments, however it is an open question if Asafa will be fit and ready for Beijing.

Mama Bolt need to cool it. She must leave that to the camps.

Asafa is already fit and ready!

The open secret is that MVP has been doing overload training since 2006 to be able to handle the OLY rounds with no problem

Look for a Jamaica TRIFECTA in the men's 100m in Beijing!

Asafa is already fit and ready!

The open secret is that MVP has been doing overload training since 2006 to be able to handle the OLY rounds with no problem

Look for a Jamaica TRIFECTA in the men's 100m in Beijing!
            TRIFECTA?
            A who a dat deh 3rd man?

Running rounds is not Asafa's problem. You don't run two 9.7s in 1 hour and have a problem with rounds. Time wi leggo dat excuse.

I had heard that his chest muscle strain would put him out of action for a few weeks. Good to hear sey him ready.

Asafa Powell says congrats, but he's out to reclaim record
                published: Monday | June 2, 2008

Anthony Foster, [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]Freelance [COLOR=orange ! important]Writer[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]

Asafa Powell, the former world 100m record holder, has hailed Usain Bolt's record-breaking achievement, calling it deserving.
                Bolt ran 9.72 at Saturday night's [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]Reebok[/COLOR][/COLOR] Grand Prix in New York city, which erased Powell's previous mark of 9.74 seconds.
                "I am very happy for Bolt. He's a big guy and he trains very hard, he deserves the record," said Powell in a statement through his manager Paul Doyle.
                While Powell congratulated Bolt, he made it quite clear that he will be attempting to reclaim the world record.
                "I know that I can run in the 9.6s," the statement quoted Powell as saying.
                Possible clashes?
                Powell also hinted of possible clashes with Bolt, the first of which will be at National Championships, which will be run at the National Stadium from June 27-29.
                "It will be a very exciting summer," he said.
                Bolt, in the meantime, downplayed impending match-ups with his fellow Jamaican superstar.
                "I don't think it will be a showdown," he said of their possible face-off at trials. "I just think Asafa and I will just be going out there to make the team to Beijing. I don't think we're going out there to prove anything, that's how I will be looking at it I don't know how Asafa will be looking at it," said Bolt.
                Pertaining to their meetings on the grand prix circuit, Bolt said: "Right now, I am not really putting that on my mind, I am just trying to work on my 200m because I did a lot of 100m training, so it's really time to focus on my 200m," he added.

The important thing is to qualify for the final, and exert the least amount of energy thru the final rounds.

Asafa has shown that he can do that easily. What he has yet to show is that he can keep his composure and form when the pressure is on in the final.

agree... no need for calling out asafa from the parents... his parents should just talk about their son's accomplishments and leave others out of it... poor disposition...

him mother call him "bolt" heheheheheheh.....dat is not har son usain...that is bolt the 100 metre record holder!!!

i noticed that too...

c'mon baddaz...cut her a little slack man.....

awright... she get de slack... iz har pride and joy 'bolt', de fastest human on the planet... it iz expected of her to be excited... an a just de jamaican way fi big up yuh own...