• This one is good. After watching Bolt...look at prelude to

Beijing Olympics

http://www.faniq.com/videos/
    Last edited by Karl; June 1, 2008, 02:11 PM.

I say Bolt beat Powell. After seeing this race I think if he can start decent consistenty Powell and Gay going to have a hard time beating him. He was actually about 4-5 metres ahead of Gay.

He was actually about 4-5 metres ahead of Gay.
      Sass, you obviously have no idea what 4 to 5m is. A meter is 3.28ft and if Bolt led by 16ft (5m), Gay could not have finished in the time he did. From what I see, I think Bolt may have won by 4 to 5 feet. I guess you jus mixing up your units, as you must have meant to say feet.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I'm no track expert but before you all get carried away, you should see Bolt do his feat in a qualifying situation and not in a one off race before you start getting excited. The tendency of every Jamaican male (and female prior to V C-B) has been to look good up to the finals then choke in the finals of the Olympics or World Championships. They flatter to disappoint is what I'm saying.

no worry the drugs nuh that plentiful again.

Dont talk too fast. When the US sees that it is inevitable that JA will win a gold in upcoming games, they scurry to drug up an athlete to prevent that. They may drug up Gay or find some other new college athlete to drug up.

you know what yuh talking bout. look for marshavet hooker, or some belarussian to give veronica fits come olympics!

Its true and the drug taking by other athletes is not the full explanation. The times that they do show that our athletes simply do not produce thier best or near-best performances in the big races.

Originally posted by Matter View Post
                  I'm no track expert but before you all get carried away, you should see Bolt do his feat in a qualifying situation and not in a one off race before you start getting excited. The tendency of every Jamaican male (and female prior to V C-B) has been to look good up to the finals then choke in the finals of the Olympics or World Championships. They flatter to disappoint is what I'm saying.
                  Prior to Veronica Campbell?
                  You forget - Arthur Wint? Herb McKenley? Donald Quarrie, Dion (Deon) Hemmings? ...and our many other athletes who ran World and or Olympic record times at the Olympics?

What of George Kerr producing his Olympic World Record in the 800M? Sure he got (only? That was a great feat!) a BRONZE in the finals?

What of our relay teams?
                  4 x 440 yards - Wint, Leslie Laing, McKenley and Rhoden? World and Olympic Records and the GOLD!

What of our Women's Gold in the World Championships with Ottey anchoring?

...and there are those who lived up to and bettered the times they ran before major games...including Grace Jackson in the Olympic 200M; Juilette Cuthbert in the 100M and 200M at the Olympics?

Cho Matter, man...Yuh-his mi bredren an yuh sudda kno betta. Not even innah error yuh fi ramp wid wi suh!
                  Respek, still!
                  Last edited by Karl; June 2, 2008, 08:08 AM.

I agree Karl.

We had DQ, Wint, Rhoden, relays, etc. Plus we had Hemmings as well.

I like how you cherry-pick.

Herb Mac - Probably was never a bigger favourite for the 400m gold. Underperformed by going out way to fast in the first 200m. Jamaicans didn't care too much because Wint won, but really it was a bad performance by the overwhelming favourite.

PS. I have heard that Herb was celebrating his victory the night BEFORE the race.

Ottey, too many times to mention. Probably the most shocking was in 1991 when she won something like 50+ races straight and in the final returned a sub-par time. True the winner was the drugged-up Katherine Krabbe, but again, Otteys final times were very disapointing when you look at what she was capable of. I have had far too many discussions about wether the rounds were a problem for her, etc, etc.

Quarrie- favourite for gold in the 1976 100m, only to be beaten by a little known Trini named Crawford, never to be heard from again in the big meets. He won the 200m so this is widely forgotten now.

Asafa - unfortunately developing quite a track record for himself where this is concerned.

Generally we have underperformed greatly in the relays too, from 1968 till now. With better application and preparation we should have had a lot more gold medals, instead of silver and bronze.

Also I think we have had a disproportionate number of injuries to our star athletes in big meets. I don't know if that is due to mental/physical preparation or just bad luck.

There are exceptions: Wint, Lennox Miller, Winthrop Graham... They may not have won gold, but they came with thier best performances consistently in the big races.

Think about this....

For a country that has had such a wealth of mens sprinting talent in the last 50 years...The fastest man in the world for maybe 20 of those years between...

McKenley, Dennis Johnson, Miller, Quarrie, Stewart, Powell, Bolt

We have NEVER won the mens 100m or 4x100m at the Olympics or World Championship.

An athlete I admire is Sandy Richards. Not the most talented but she gave her very best without fear and always did herself justice.

I like how you cherry-pick.

Herb Mac - Probably was never a bigger favourite for the 400m gold. Underperformed by going out way to fast in the first 200m. Jamaicans didn't care too much because Wint won, but really it was a bad performance by the overwhelming favourite.

PS. I have heard that Herb was celebrating his victory the night BEFORE the race.

Ottey, too many times to mention. Probably the most shocking was in 1991 when she won something like 50+ races straight and in the final returned a sub-par time. True the winner was the drugged-up Katherine Krabbe, but again, Otteys final times were very disapointing when you look at what she was capable of. I have had far too many discussions about wether the rounds were a problem for her, etc, etc.

Quarrie- favourite for gold in the 1976 100m, only to be beaten by a little known Trini named Crawford, never to be heard from again in the big meets. He won the 200m so this is widely forgotten now.

Asafa - unfortunately developing quite a track record for himself where this is concerned.

Generally we have underperformed greatly in the relays too, from 1968 till now. With better application and preparation we should have had a lot more gold medals, instead of silver and bronze.

Also I think we have had a disproportionate number of injuries to our star athletes in big meets. I don't know if that is due to mental/physical preparation or just bad luck.

There are exceptions: Wint, Lennox Miller, Winthrop Graham... They may not have won gold, but they came with thier best performances consistently in the big races.
                            Firstly I never said we have not had our - (i.e. Emphasis on our. ...being we the non-performers/arm-chair runners) disappointments. ..but contrary to what you state on 'straight up comparisons of all athletes who won medals at the major meets our athletes ...(including those who we expected to win aGold and never did)...performed very, very well.

I am saying athletes at these major games do not break records as often as some may think...and times and distances that take gold are more often than not lower than best times. I think we look at these performances usually firstly from view-point of our expectations (I am guilty also).

Look at Merlene for example her magnificent record at major meets is somehow looked at as 'fenke-fenke'...when nothing is further from the truth! That record is possible the best ever! (I certainly believe it is the best ever in the history of mankind!)

No worry we a go get No Mercy fi get the Tivoli duppy fi travel wid the team