• Usain Boltttttttttttttt

9.72 @ REEBOK! He is da MANNNNNNNNNNN

Usain Bolt - men's 100 winner, World Record

I had the idea that I could run the WR. I did well running 9.9 and lower. I was pretty confident coming in here.
    I wasn't looking for a WR but it came to me today and I'll take it.
    I was glad for the first false start. My first start wasn't that good. I knew if I got Tyson on the start I'd get him.
    My coach said concentrate on the drive phase and that's what I did. It doesn't matter if I have the WR if I don't have the Olympic gold medal.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Big up Bolt!! Now Asafa gwine haffi come good!!
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Hmmm, I guess maybe he did have more in the tank...

Could be the illusion of him easing up in Jamaica was actually a reality.

It doesn't matter if I have the WR if I don't have the Olympic gold medal.
          So, what was all that nonsense talk about not being sure if he'll run the 100m at the Olympics?!?

Please! Even without the world record, there was no way he could have passed up the 100m.

and so for all thoe who figured the record was the be all for asafa...seeitdeh.....now him nuh have that...

bolt is correct....him si what happen and suh....

him and asafa must now learn how to run rounds!!

and so for all thoe who figured the record was the be all for asafa...seeitdeh.....now him nuh have that...

bolt is correct....him si what happen and suh....

him and asafa must now learn how to run rounds!!
              Look fi Asafa fi tek back the WR if he gets more than 1ms wind.

From my spy network, it appears that Asafa is in that kind of shape!

Asafa has no tinkle, no WR and NO PRESSURE anymore.

He will be the danger for Beijing. Be wary of the hungriest man out there!

Simply amazing

Well Bolt might be able to go faster as the reason he gives for running the 1 is so he doesn't have to run the 4.

What if him really take it serious?

So true, Willi. My money, my early money, is on Asafa.

A Specialist Over 200 Meters Becomes a Favorite in the 100 function
                      By JOSHUA ROBINSON
                      Published: May 31, 2008
                      By his own admission, Usain Bolt has some bad running habits.
                      Skip to next paragraph Ruben Sprich/Reuters
                      Usain Bolt, right, and Tyson Gay in the 200 last summer. On Saturday, they’ll run the 100, in which Bolt holds the second- fastest time in history.

Coverage of the 2008 Beijing Games from every angle — the politics, the arts, the culture and the competition.Go to the Rings Blog »

But whether it is glancing over his shoulder to check on his competition or easing up in the final steps of a race, those habits have not stopped him from becoming one of the favorites to lower the world record in the 100 meters and to win a gold medal at this summer’s Beijing Olympics. That is, if he enters the race.
                      Bolt, a 21-year-old Jamaican with a name for the headlines, is a specialist over 200 meters. He has yet to decide whether he will attempt the sprint double in Beijing.
                      “Over the last few years, he has been preparing mentally and physically for the 200,” his coach, Glen Mills, said. “It could be foolhardy to abandon all of that for one fast time only to realize that he should have stayed where he belonged.”
                      Bolt, who is 6 feet 5 inches and has run a national-record 19.75 in the 200, has competed in only four top-level 100-meter races. The fifth will come Saturday night, when he faces Tyson Gay, the defending world champion in the 100 and 200, at the Reebok Grand Prix on Randalls Island. Gay ran a wind-aided 9.76 at this meet last year. It was Bolt’s third race, however, that drew serious attention.
                      Earlier this month, Bolt ran the second-fastest 100 meters in history, 9.76 at the Jamaica International Invitational in Kingston. It was just two-hundredths of a second off the world record, set by his fellow Jamaican Asafa Powell last September.
                      Even then, Bolt seemed to take his foot off the gas down the stretch. To him, though, it made perfect sense. He was trying to see the clock.
                      “I was just looking to see what time I was running, because I wasn’t expecting to run 9.7,” he said Thursday at a news conference in Midtown Manhattan.
                      But why did he not finish the race first, then look at the clock?
                      “After you cross the line, you’ve passed the clock, so you’ve got to look at it before,” he said, before looking to his left at Gay. “I’m sure if you ask Tyson, he does the same thing.”
                      Gay just shrugged. If Bolt were to slow down at the end when the two match up Saturday, it would certainly make Gay’s life easier.
                      “I’m just as nervous racing him now in the 100,” said Gay, who edged Bolt over 200 meters at the 2007 world championships in Osaka, Japan.
                      Bolt started racing in the 100 last season, using it as speed work for the 200 and posting a time of 10.03 seconds.
                      Mills had originally wanted Bolt to try the 400, in which he had excelled as a teenager.
                      “In high school it was easy, because I was just working off talent,” Bolt said. “There wasn’t a lot of training behind the 400. But now I have to work really hard to get there. I really can’t handle that pressure right now.”
                      So when he flirted with the world record, Bolt felt vindicated in his choice.
                      “I told you I’m a 100 runner,” Mills recalled Bolt saying. “And I still said, ‘No, you’re a quarter-mile runner.’ ”
                      With his height, Bolt hardly fits the mold of a 100-meter sprinter, and it has made his success in the event all the more surprising. He may cover more ground with every stride, but keeping his lanky frame low during the early phase of a race has been a problem.
                      “He pops up sometimes and his reaction time fluctuates very much,” said Mills, adding, “He’s yet to do it as well as he’s done it in training.”
                      Like Gay, Bolt is known for struggling with his start before making up ground in the second half of the race with his remarkable top speed. That speed, according to Mills, is what makes him such a versatile runner.
                      “I have not seen a sprinter who has that kind of possibility to run a 9.76 in the 100, but also the potential to go below 44 in the 400,” Mills said.
                      Bolt has run a 45.28 in the 400.
                      Of course, with suspicions of doping constantly looming over the track world, Bolt’s meteoric rise has raised a few eyebrows. But he said that he had never used performance-enhancing drugs and that he had been tested five times in 2008.
                      If that is a bad habit Bolt does not have, he still looks over his shoulder in the middle of races. Not even the American Wallace Spearmon could cure him of that.
                      “He always used to beat me because I was looking over,” Bolt said. “But nobody stopped me when I was younger, so I guess it just followed me to the professional level.”
                      Bad habits or not, even fewer people can stop him now

Will it be on T.V today ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

CBS at 1:30 pm Eastern.

willi everybody a guh hungry...yuh nuh si food prices a rise daily?

Yes I was glad to hear him say that him value the gold more than the WR.

As it turns out Asafa didn't even hold it for a very long time. Him might get it back though!

What a ting? Never before has Jamaica gone into an Olympics with such possibilities. And thank God, because country badly need a lift in spirits.