• Munro jumper takes up US scholarship

Munro jumper takes up US scholarship

PAUL A REID Observer Writer
    reidp@jamaicaobserver.com

MALVERN, St Elizabeth — Munro College’s Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Junior triple jump champion Seon Powell left the island late last week for the University of Louisville where he accepted a full athletic scholarship.
    Powell, who will join a team that includes two of the top horizontal jumpers in the United States and will be coached by the reigning National Jumps Coach of the Year, Jake Jacoby, made a break from a recent tradition.
    In the past 10 years or so, a number of Munro past students have made a bee-line for Baton Rouge to attend Louisiana State University (LSU), but Powell said he “wanted to make a change and start a new tradition”.
    The soft-spoken 6’ 4” 195 lbs athlete who was fourth in the triple jump at the Junior Pan-Am Games held in Brazil last year, said while he got a number of offers, Louisville was more attractive given their strong tradition in his specialties.
    He said, “I am feeling OK about the scholarship and I have confidence in the coach because he is a good jumps coach. He has been the number one jumps coach in the US for the past two years so I’m pretty confident in his ability.” Andre Black and Tone Belt were NCAA Indoor triple and long jump champions, respectively, and Powell will have them as teammates this season on a team ranked No 5 in NCAA Division I outdoor track and field this year. Powell, who also had offers from LSU, Texas-San Antonio, Tennessee and Kansas State, has a SAT score of 1,600 from a maximum 2,400 which qualified him for any Division 1 school in the US, and along with his nine CXC passes and seven CAPE subjects, and a personal best of 15.33m in the triple jump and 7.08m in the long jump made him an attraction for many college coaches. The former Lacovia Primary valedictorian and top GSAT student told the Sunday Observer he plans to study civil engineering. Dr Kevin ‘Gwyn’ Jones, who coached Powell in the jumps at Munro, has high hopes for the athlete who also excelled in the classroom, placing first in his class at Munro every year up to fourth form and was on the Principal’s Honour Roll and a regular student of the month. Jones described Powell as “very determined and focused... very unassuming when you talk to him. He is not the type who gets riled up and makes a lot of noise, but he works hard at his craft and is very dedicated at what he does, which is a good thing”. Jones, also a Munro Old Boy, said he left Powell to make the choice of schools and did not try to lead him in any direction.

POWELL... departed last week for University of Louisville

This reminds me, Sickko. Some time ago you said that word on the street was that Munro had accepted a former STETHS student who was now playing for its daCosta Cup team when he had few or no CXC subjects, or something to that effect. You were trying to make a point that Munro had drastically dropped its standards with an aim to win the Cup once again. Of course, without knowing the facts, but standing by my alma mater's reputation and principles, I disputed it.

Well, I spoke to the youngster in question yesterday. The fact is he has 6 CXCs and is pursuing Spanish among other things at the CAPE level. It might interest you to know that only one member of the DCup team has 4 subjects at CAPE, all the rest 6 and over. The one with 4 subjects has already passed 3 subjects at the CAPE level since his transfer into Munro's 6th form.

Just FYI.

I never questioned the kid's acdemic credentials Mosiah, simply because I did not know it. What I did say was that I found it interesting as did several STETHS people that Munro was taking players from them.

As for the lowering of standards...I will repeat for the umpteenth time that it was the present headmaster at Munro who told me that he will take boys with four subjects in Sixth Form as long as they could run, jump or play cricket or football.

Seems you have both situations confused.

Sickko, it is not strange at all. I remember the 1974 STETHS side which won DaCosta Cup, there were two Holness brothers on that team. One went to Munro's 6th form after leaving STETHS and featured in games against us the following couple years. Mosiah may remember this guy he was short and real light skinned. I know of another student (I only know as Harry from Santa Cruz), when he finished STETHS he went to 6th form at MC too.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Did STETHS have sixth form then? STETHS has Sixth form now

At the time, no they did not.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

It's always going to happen. But as a policy, Munro does not go searching for students or players. The student must want to come. No one is going to beg them or offer them anything on the side.

And you will more often find the transfer being a one-way street. Munro students will not transfer to STETHS often, but it has happened before.

Gwaan hide your head in the sand, Munro is recruiting players, if Gilchrist had his way there would have been two former Mannings students at Munro this year as well but they did not have five CXCs between them and no way they could have pulled that one off.

As for inducements, Munro waived school fees for the DCup players for the first term-- how different was Munro from Glenmuir and Clarendon College this year?

I know for a fact that several past students and parents of present boys are not pleased with what is going on up there.

Sickko, rumours abound! When people recruit players for Munro, do you know whehter they are doing it with the official blessing of the school? Anyone can ask anyone to transfer to a certain school. But was it authorised by the school?

Anyway, I will investigate each and every one of these cases with a board member this week and get back to you. Maybe things have changed!

And please don't imply that I am pulling any ostrich act. I may be ignorant of what's really going on, but I am not trying to not acknowledge it one bit!

Who was your English teacher at Munro? He/she would be ashamed of your use of a double negative in your last paragraph...

Anyhoo, your ignorance of what is going on at Munro does not mean it does not exist? Or does it?

Who was your English teacher at Munro? He/she would be ashamed of your use of a double negative in your last paragraph...

Anyhoo, your ignorance of what is going on at Munro does not mean it does not exist? Or does it?
                      Did I say it doesn't not exist?

That's why I'm going to investigate. It could very well exist, yes!

Gwaan hide your head in the sand, Munro is recruiting players, if Gilchrist had his way there would have been two former Mannings students at Munro this year as well but they did not have five CXCs between them and no way they could have pulled that one off.

As for inducements, Munro waived school fees for the DCup players for the first term-- how different was Munro from Glenmuir and Clarendon College this year?

I know for a fact that several past students and parents of present boys are not pleased with what is going on up there.
                        It has all been explained to me, Sickko. Firstly, Gilchrist will never unilaterally have his way in bringing in any student to play football. He did tell me about the Mannings student, who he described as very, very good. But his academics were just not good enuff. I wonder how many schools would have looked the other way.

The fact is, Sickko, parents who recognize that their sons have some sporting ability but are concerned about their academics have been pounding the doors of that school for a place for their sons. There is simply no institution on the island that is able to produce very good sportsmen while giving them a very good education in the way that Munro does. You know Munro got the Jamaica scholarship last year. Well, the boy who did even better than him academically was on the daCosta Cup team. He did not get the Jamaica Scholarship because he did not apply to UWI Mona. Last year’s Class 3 100m champion at Champs is also an excellent student. A few years ago, Munro’s champion 4x400m team had an average of 8 CXCs. The list goes on and will continue to go on.

The board member I mentioned has a son who plays for the daCosta Cup team. He has always paid his school fees. The fact is Munro does not waive the fees for any footballer. There are times when the fees may be paid by individuals other than the parents, but the fees are paid. Star players have been having their fees paid for them from the 60s! But there is no such rule that Munro waives the fees for footballers.

Since my time, day students on the football team have been given a place at school for the football term. Day students come from all over the parish and to facilitate training they have been allowed to board during the term. This is because the buses might be leaving at 5:00 or 5:30 to go to as far as Black River. By the time the student gets home, does homework and goes to bed, it is time to rise at 5:00 in the morning to catch the bus to school. So, if people have a problem with the school looking out for them in this way, then we are guilty as charged.

A couple years ago, Howard University had to turn down the application of one of Glenmuir’s best players because he could not make the academic standard. That position was given to Munro's daCosta Cup captain. Never mind that that Glenmuir player was in 6th form and had received all sorts of accolades for being a model student-athlete.

On the other hand, James Thomas, captain of last year’s daCosta Cup team from Glenmuir, is said to have taken his studies seriously while camping with the U-20s at the oft-maligned academy. He proudly attended classes at Munro dressed as a Glenmuir student, tie and all. James has countless football scholarship offers from universities in the US.

And no, Munro is not going down to STETHS to rob them of their athletes. Indeed, they are the ones who are begging to come to Munro. We absolutely don’t believe in coercing anyone to come to Munro for football or for any other thing. No student in a moment of distress can say to anyone, “Is unnu force mi fi come yah!”

So, whichever past student and parent of present boys are not pleased with what is going on up there, maybe they themselves are not working with the facts.

I myself am more than pleased with what I see. The school continues to produce quality athletes with better than average academic results. This has allowed so many of them to move from dirt-poor conditions to prominent colleges in the USA where they have fulfilled their dreams and have made their parents proud. When a boy, discovered in a garbage can soon after birth, can become the Jamaica Scholar while being a member of the track team amongst other activities, what more can you ask for?

We know that some of the best athletes won’t come to Munro. That’s fine. We don’t want them just because they are the best in their field. And we know we might not win the DaCosta Cup for another 40 years. But one thing you can be sure of, our standards will never fall to the point where our graduates do not have a solid foundation from which to become productive citizens.

I dare say, Sickko, I am much closer to the school’s reality than you could ever be, and I am more than satisfied. I hereby declare my head free of sand.

Mo, yuh think MC will ever win DaCosta Cup again? I do not mean to be facetious, I am just wondering. I know you can never say never as in 1974 when STETHS won the DaCosta Cup, they did it against all the odds. They had no star ballers and every player on the squad was decicated to their academics. It was after the 1974 season that we had a number of players who as you would say were "imported" to defend the Cup.

I thought you guys had a big time coach at Munro. What happen, is he still there?

Yes, I believe it will happen, sooner rather than later. For the longest while we have been a factor, just more like a Liverpool rather than like a Chelsea! I dare say we have come closer than JC in the past 10 years and look what JC did last year! And with a Munro Old Boy as the principal!

Big time coach?? Oh, that one. He was an utter failure even though the team didn't do too badly. But it just goes to show that having all the US coaching credentials does not necessarily mean a thing!

Mosiah, I read two paragraphs and stopped cause either you are lying or not fully appraised of the facts...I was not the only one who was standing there when Gayle said the schools fees were waived, at least two other members of the media were there as well as a very well respected coach who has his eyes on the coaching job there.

Additionally Gilchrist was at the Village vs Seba game Sunday and admitted that the school waived the school fees for the boys for the first term.

By the way Oshane Foote is not that good, he is a decent player and an even better triple/long/high jumper who has not paid any attention to his book work. You can see him play for the Reno Under 21 team next time they come to Kingston.

Sorry but you sound almost like Karl trying to defend the PNP now and I cant read anymore of your excuses.