West Indies 408, South Africa 63/3 (12.1 ov)

• West Indies 408, South Africa 63/3 (12.1 ov)

.....and I didn't want to follow it...

95/5 now

How my Steths man Jerome Taylor performed?
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Taylor did his job. He has so far taken 2/28 off 7 overs. He also scored 9 runs earlier while sharing a 25-run partnership with Chanderpaul.

Powell is also from St Elizabeth. Did he go to STETHS?
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Yes Darren Powell also went to there.

A former STETHS man recently sent me an email that the following past students currently play for Jamaica:- Brenton Parchment, Shawn Findlay, Nikita Miller, Jerome Taylor and Darren Powell.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Amazing! Just uncanny how one school gets all these great cricketers!

SA all out for 195! Windies now 98 for 2. So why didn't Gayle enforce the follow on?

Congrats to the Steths old boys.. Taylor 3 for 46, Powell 3 for 58.

What is food to note is that there were only two extras charged to the bowlers.. a wide and a no ball. Keep it up Windies.

pr

Good coaching from Junior Bennett. Hopefully STETHS will still be able to produce them. Holmwood Tech also had their fair share with Ricardo Powell, Matthew & Donovan sinclair et al.

In the Seventies I think KC was the feeder school to the national team.
                "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Good question but a major factor in enforcing the follow-on is the physical state of your bowlers. If they need the rest then it's safer to take a turn at bat in order to let the bowlers rest.

Yes, that's it!

no sah....no way...batting again is the better decision.

In most cases batting again is the better decision; as in this case. But let's say West Indies had come out this morning and blown out SA within the space of 4 or 5 overs. Then that would leave Taylor, Powell, Edwards and company still fresh and raring to go. In that case, enforcing the follow on is the better decision.

But yes, when possible bat again because the pitch deteriorates to its worst on the final day, hence making it tougher for the the who bowls last.