Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club
 Everything Reggae Boyz Forum
 is FULLER THE BEST CARIBBEAN STRIKER EVER?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

yaga
Starting Member

Jamaica
25 Posts

Posted - Dec 31 2002 :  4:48:20 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
over the past decade , the caribbean has had some potent strikers.
boyd was the most skilfull but lacked discipline.
Lowe was the best and most consistent for country.
yorke was the best at club level but failed to repeat those performances for trinidad when it matters most.
stern john is a good finisher for trinidad but did not make a mark in the english first division until his third season.

lowe could have made a bigger club impact if he had signed for a higher division.

Ricardo wily boo fuller seem like he is destined to be the caribbeans` best ever striker.
he is skilful, pacy, magical and a good goalscorer at both national and club level.
NO OTHER CARIBBEAN PLAYER HAS MADE AS BIG AN IMPACT AS HE DID IN THEIR FIRST FULL SEASON IN ENGLAND.
TEGAT DAVIS WAS ALSO A GOOD FINISHER BUT FULLER IS THE BEST EVER CARIBBEAN FORWARD.

yagga

triniman
Starting Member

Trinidad and Tobago
6 Posts

Posted - Jan 06 2003 :  11:34:36 PM  Show Profile  Send triniman a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
"The best striker in the Caribbean Ever"?
Man you have to be kidding. There is no doudting the youth ability and potential but "the best ever" is a little premature.How would you go about judging such a scenerio? i would think that it would be by the player's accomplishments of which there is only on forward in the concacaf region have achieved the highest honours. That being Dwight Yorke, apart from his team honours and he has numerous personal honours including the "Carling best youth player" award to my knowledge Ricardo Fuller doesnt have one such as yet does he, and apart from dat he plys his trade in scotland of all places, and unless you play for Rangers or Celtic your arguement really lacks teeth... As i said before there is no undenying the young man's talent but the "Best Ever" i think you light-up ah bad herb deh brotha !!!!

Trini in meh heart, west indian in meh soul
Go to Top of Page

Tillamawnin

USA
197 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2003 :  01:34:35 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Trini: I think Yorke is an excellent striker, albeit at the club level. He has not scored the goals at international level to create a reputation for himself.

Also, it is easier to amass a lot of goals when you find yourself playing with the best teams, as York has done with Man U. You should not undermine the abilities of a young player playing on maybe one of the weakest teams in the SPL and making a name for himself.

You have to be able to judge a player on his own merit, not what he achieved with a strong club like Man U.

Fuller is a good striker, so is Yorke, Stern John, Lowe etc. As to who is the best, it is a matter of opinions. Moreover, who can really say some player is the best ever?

Live simply so that others may simply live.

Mohandas K. Gandhi
Go to Top of Page

yaga
Starting Member

Jamaica
25 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2003 :  08:28:19 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
well said tillamawnin.
you hit the nail on the head. yorke is a good finisher but fuller is better overall.

yagga
Go to Top of Page

triniman
Starting Member

Trinidad and Tobago
6 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2003 :  3:13:14 PM  Show Profile  Send triniman a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
You guys have to be kiddin me. It is rediculous to think that Alex Ferguson was doing Yorke a favour by highering him to do the job at Manchester United. It was a testiment to Yorke's hard work and determination and ability that he went to "man u" at the same time Alex Ferguson was also seeking the services fo Klivert and batistuta which put Yorke in very elite company. He"alex ferguson was looking for a certain type of forward to complete his team, one that could hold the ball and distribute from the front as these three players have demonstrated that ability.all things being equal as in life the best would always rise to the top,also the best players would play on the best teams because they "are "the best and would be with the better teams or be in the company of similar players. It is redicluous to think a better than average player would play his entire career in the lower leagues so Mr Fuller potential would be soon realise as for the best ever. Football is a team game and one man dont make a team. Dwight plays a different role onthe TnT team than he used to play on the Man U. There are many players who never reproduce on the international stage as they do with their country,but Yorke still manage his share of goals. In this region "concacaf" Yorke is probably the most heavily marked player ive ever seen for good reason double sometimes triple team ive seen with my own eyes apart from the "hacking" tactics employed by your own National team "remember Hagler"..so the fact that TnT havent gone to the big dance doesnt mean that Yorke is unaccomplished. De man damn good although personally i dont like him .."give jack he jacket" Yorke is the best de caribbean produce up front !!!

Go to Top of Page

yaga
Starting Member

Jamaica
25 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2003 :  5:45:15 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Triniman, there is no doubt that yorke is a good finisher.
but remeber that andy cole is the second highest scorer in premiership history and has only a single international goal to his credit. he is best known as a club baller. cole like yorke is a good finisher though and desrve credit.
what separates fuller from all though is this, he is the complete forward. no ones skills can compre to his .one defender can`t mark him.
defenders are afraid to tackle him, he finishes, he does the sublime , he is unpredictable, like wanchope. THESE players are impact players.
though yorke is talented, it took him some years to adapt in england, fuller is a n instant hit.
yorke is good striker though.

yagga
Go to Top of Page

yaga
Starting Member

Jamaica
25 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2003 :  5:59:55 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
trini,
opinions will be divided as to who is better though, some will say fuller , others yorke.
fullers far superior skills will torment defences any where any time, so i will go with him. he has pace, he will win penalties create and score.
fuller is the ronaldo type of forward who i rate highly.
they not only score, they entertain the crowd.

yagga
Go to Top of Page

triniman
Starting Member

Trinidad and Tobago
6 Posts

Posted - Jan 07 2003 :  7:17:04 PM  Show Profile  Send triniman a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
ah think some ah you guys a little bit pon the naive side when it comes to "de ball" i dont really expect you guys to know about dwight yorke in his earlier days in Trinidad and Tobago , take it from me the youth was ah deadly dribbler star.If you realise only recently dribbling has become a feature in the english game largely because of a new culture and philosophy of the better coaches., but at the time when Dwight Yorke went to england it was something dat was discouraged other aspects of his game had to be developed to be a more complete striker. the premiership is one of the most difficult leagues inthe world becasue of the tempo the game is played at.So until your boy plays in the Premiership..just relax and watch a good man play ball...

Go to Top of Page

yaga
Starting Member

Jamaica
25 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2003 :  08:14:24 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
trini,
we can go back and forth about who is better but i maintain it is fuller.
yorke has a good club career but fuller is better overall.
yorke even have a better club career than his compatriot latapy who is also a better player.
yorke`s biggest downfall is lack of international impact especially in the world cup final.
he is greatly rated at club level but he hasn`t done it for tnt.
so in concacaf, he doesn`t get much rating outside of his country, he doesn`t pose much problem for opposing defenders.
however we have to respect your opinion as you are set.
fuller is the bestplayer on any day under any conditions, not only for a club or a system of play that you take 5 years to adapt to.
good luck to you and yorke though.

yagga
Go to Top of Page

yaga
Starting Member

Jamaica
25 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2003 :  08:38:24 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
i also alluded to the fact that you can`t ever compare the skill of fuller to that of yorke.
but if you are a steadfast yorke supporter who rate him highly,
then good luck to you.

yagga
Go to Top of Page

triniman
Starting Member

Trinidad and Tobago
6 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2003 :  4:24:30 PM  Show Profile  Send triniman a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
yagga you strike me as a person with some intelligence. However you may be the one who is biased here. the only way you can judge a player is against the best of opposition. That way you can judge the player's effectiveness. I know all of you guys have watched the development of dwight yorke's career intentively as we do in trinidad and it is safe to say that yorke is one of the coolest finishers in the game. You have witnessed his poise and ability against the world best from Germany,England, Spain and Italy during Manu Champion League seasons. Scoring against all oppositions and you guys can honestly sit there and say that Ricardo Fuller is better you guys have too be crazy. There is no doubt de youth have talent, but it The premiership is a huge step-up from division one.Realisticaly speaking ive seen Fuller play and i rate him on the same level as Stern John but not as good as Jerren Nixon but Dwight Yorke no way!!! Only time would tell...

Go to Top of Page

yaga
Starting Member

Jamaica
25 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2003 :  4:58:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
trini, you maybe an ardent yorke fan so i have to understand if yu rate him more highly.
his finishing for manu and villa has been exellent.
based on what i`ve seen of him at manu and for tnt, blacburn though, fuller is better.
fullers move to tearing up the epl is only a matter of formality as he has shown ripping the heart out of the birmingham and lecestr defence and destroying their teams. leciester city just got demoted from the epl. his coach, an non jamaican say he can play at any level.
if he goes to real madrid for example, he will reduce la liga defence to shreds. from what i`ve seen of fuller, he doesn`t need to prove in the epl to convince me, though he will.
while yorke may not get much rating in concacf and may get a rollicking from his home fans for his dismal international showing,
give him credit as a finisher even though he may have spent so many years in the english system before he came good.
and though yorke may not have the natural talent of fuller, latapy and barnes, he is still one of the finest caribbean strikers of his era.

yagga
Go to Top of Page

triniman
Starting Member

Trinidad and Tobago
6 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2003 :  9:37:03 PM  Show Profile  Send triniman a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
ok yagga we will see how this new gold cup goes ..Trini would be watching . No excuses....

Go to Top of Page

yaga
Starting Member

Jamaica
25 Posts

Posted - Jan 09 2003 :  08:02:54 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
respec trini, and welcome to the forum.
in time we will be more convinced but i hope fuller recovers from injury in time for the gold cup.

yagga
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club Forums © © 2000 Snitz Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.06 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000