Charmin
Starting Member
40 Posts |
Posted - May 16 2002 : 9:22:28 PM
|
The Reggae Boyz tackled the USA in New Jersey with the game being broadcast live around the world on ESPN2. And oh my, did the world see us get beaten, humiliated, taught a lesson, flogged, whipped by a rather ordinary looking US national team.
I must quickly admit that I didn't see the first half initially...But did rewind the tape to see Fuller miss a sitter; Jamaica putting the US under pressure; and then the US taking control towards the end of the second half; and then it was all downhill or, down in the "Abyss" for Boyz.
I will not summarize the game...can anyone stomach to. But will go over a few pointers:
1) Our players do not know how to play on big fields. In the future the field size should be reduce to accommadate the RBz...The US completely controlled the flanks. Although the controlled the rest of the field, too.
2) Quickness/Alert/Awareness are lacking in our most if not all our players. The US players consistenly snuck-up behind us resulting in a loss of possession...Why on earth we think that the game slows down for us, I just don't know.
3) Lesson: At this level and at this stage of the game; especially against teams that are going to the W/Cup, meaning: those teams are obviously seasoned with the W/Cup around the corner. One cannot just select a team of individuals and expect them to perform in a manner that would do their talent justice.
How does the saying goes again: "If you fail to prepare, prepare to fail".
Also prepare to get a butt-whipping!
4) Goalkeeping: While not his fault, good goalkeepers must at times bring off the spectacular...like Keller...inorder to give his team a chance. I thought Lawrence was too ordinary. Way too ordinary.
5) Defense: Did we play with any defenders?
Okay, Marco played reasonably well. But his passing out of the back is poor...Whenever he goes long.
Marshall, to me, was our best defender.
Scarlett was lost for the most part. Plus he didn't pressure Frankie Hedjuk(sp) enough, which allowed the player to roam freely on flank.
And speaking about flanks: We just didn't have any flank attack at all.
Dixon: Sorry, but Dixon may need to concentrate on club football.
Midfield: No cohesion at all. With the midfield not producing, the forwards were, for the most part, unproductive all night.
Overall, the team just wasn't prepared for this level of competition. And will certainly not be ready for the Nigeria nor the Saudi clash.
PS. I fully believe that a prepared local squad would have done a lot better tonight. I wouldn't dare say that they would have won. After all, we have never beaten the USA before. But the "eleven best", doesn't necessarily equates to the "best eleven", does it?
Still I welcome the games, regardless of how poor we were last night. And truss meh, we played badly, poorly to be truthful.
This team needs a lot (Chemistry, cohesiveness), not only the players but the coaching staff, too.
{Bruce Arean made changes at the half and inspired his troops. We couldn't)
Respect and irie ites! Charmin
|
|