Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club
 Everything Reggae Boyz Forum
 What positives can Jamaica take from Ghana's World

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Check here to include your profile signature.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
Karl Posted - Jul 01 2006 : 6:55:34 PM
--------------------------

run?

Is there anything that us in Jamaica can take from the recently concluded world cup run of our AFRICAN BROTHERS ?

What can we take strength from and what have we learnt watching Ghana?

Ras Shatta - 28 June, 2006

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alright boss, since yuh call mi name... Here are the things Jamaica can learn from Ghana...

1. Get a good coach NO MATTER what his COLOUR is SHATTA...

2. Use a diverse collection of players no matter where the ply their trade... Ghana had the unique distinction of having a 23 man roster that had players from 23 different clubs... So this thing about having exclusive home based talent, or exclusive foreign based talent should be layed to rest... What Jamaica wants is THE BEST talent available...

3. Make sure we have a very, very good goalkeeper such as Richard Kingston proved himself to be... Making the highest number of saves over a 4 game period at 38!!!... He let in 6, but Ghana could have been completely emba****ed as we were against Australia, England and Ghana... So a good goalkeeper in MANDATORY...

4. Ghana's defense is similarly as porous as ours in allowing their goalkeeper to be exposed to 44 shots on target (the HIGHEST in the tournament)... So a quality defense is necessary...

5. Skill alone does not matter in the final analysis because we are just as, or even more skillful than the Africans... What matters is that BOTH teams need to learn how to KICK PROPERLY so that they can score...

Ghana outshot Brazil 20 to 10... Barzil scored 3 of their 10, Ghana scored none of their 20... So forwards who can kick properly and score are necessary as Ghana learned to their detriment...

Skill, speed, blood and guts can only take you so far as Ghana and the other African nations before them have shown in their World Cup appearances...

What Ghana has shown us and everyone and every team can learn from is that to be successful you have to have the 3 components necessary for success... They are FITNESS, UNDERSTANDING and TECHNIQUE...

Unfortunately for the Africans, they mastered the FITNESS component, but fell short in the UNDERSTANDING and TECHNICAL components...

This is alarming when one is to compare Ghana and Jamaica and shows us just how far behind we are, because Ghana dismissed us 4 to 1 with relative ease... So the positive we learned here is that we have a long road to travel to get to where Ghana currently is...

Shatta, whether you want to admit it or not, Ghana fell way short in the TECHNICAL component as it relates to SHOOTING... Creating the chances are good, and Ghana were extremely good at that, but if you can't finish these chances, you will get away with it sometimes, but more often than not, you will get punished as Brazil punished them yesterday...

As for the UNDERSTANDING component... Look at the failed off-sides trap and the lack of synchronization... But forget that, look at how many times their defense exposed their goalkeeper... So they definitely had a problem in the back as to understanding who was to do what, when and where... As for the Reggaeboyz... Well let's not go there...

As to FITNESS... The Africans proved to all that fitness isn't the end all and be all of soccer... Or in other words...

FITNESS ISN'T EVERYTHING... but...

EVERYTHING WITHOUT FITNESS IS NOTHING...

The Africans were fit, no doubt, but an UNFIT and OLDER Brazilian team used their superior TECHNIQUE and UNDERSTANDING to beat a super fit African team...

So the positives to be taken away from Ghana's showing are:...

You need to have a good coach (of any colour) that will pick the best players for every position (INCLUDING GOALKEEPER) no matter which club they are playing for, no matter where these clubs may be in the world, that will teach us how to master the necessary components of TECHNIQUE, UNDERSTANDING and FITNESS in order to be successful...

ZEE - 28 June, 2006

Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club Forums © © 2000 Snitz Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.05 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000