Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club
 Everything Reggae Boyz Forum
 Sensi - Jamaica's U-17 vs US' U-17 at US Academy

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Check here to include your profile signature.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
Karl Posted - Apr 06 2003 : 01:54:15 AM
I must say that they knew the basics but at this level they need to show far more than that. The players showed good ball control even under pressure but had a tendency to give away the ball to easily once they get it, which created more pressure on themselves. Therefore, they always seemed as if they were just chasing and defending, and as we all know that when we make these mistakes at this level we will be punished dearly.

They ran into space and supported the play when they had the ball, but we didn't really get a chance to see what they could do offensively because they either gave away the ball or were just clueless, and I truly think that the coaching staff has a whole lot to do. There were a number of players who displayed good individual skills and no doubt possess the ability to take players to the cleaners but they were not combining well and individuality brought them nothing without strong team play and support. I also saw them doing something that we have become accustomed to seeing at all levels of our National teams and that is to be more defensive minded. Most times we have consecutive passes was inside our own half, playing back to our defense too often. It became real annoying when it seemed as though they were defending 5-0, but as I said maybe they were truly tired as the lads told me. Our Goal-keeper is suspect, the defense seem as though they could hold their own, midfield was non-existent(waiting for a midfield general to step forward), No offense especially without midfield support, only one wayward shot to goal. They looked a lot better in the last 15 minutes of play when Adu was out off the field and both teams had subs in the game. We showed some hustle and started going after the ball early, but this was after being already down
5-0. It is my opinion that the USA looked ordinary with Adu out of the game, and so if we can even mark him closer and somehow take him out of the game, thus minimize his effectivess we would surely have a shot. Mi bredren Karl, all I'm saying that when a team where full white and at the end of the game there was no dutty clothes then something wrong!!! That simply mean wi a pet and escort dem! The USA youths dem white clothes were still laundry clean after the game...that no fi gwaan! It's gonna be 3 friendlies and niether team should try to hurt any of these young players but they should be reminded that they are in a game!!

Trust mi! there was no exaggeration about the white clothes ting, it was a big joke on the sideline after the game!!

Sensi

2   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Karl Posted - Apr 10 2003 : 12:35:18 PM
SENSI

Greetings again from Tampa: USA 3 - Jamaica 0....
Thursday, April 10, 2003, 12:19:55 AM
IP:205.188.208.169

Good Morning family! I wish I had some great news for the massive about the final game between our young Boyz and the USA, but though not great I hope it maybe somewhat encouraging.

The conditions were nice and cool with the threat of rain looming in the distance, and the anticipation for this game was high especially because of our improved play on Monday. So high that Mexx offered no resistance to the Football force that pulled him from Miami to brave a 8 hours round trip with Princess and a next bredren. It was certainly refreshing to link up with the I and the sistren fi tek in the game because the I dem Irie star!

I thought that Jamaica was gonna go all out for a win today, but it seem as thogh the coaching staff were still feeling out the side with the bigger picture in mind which is Sunday's game vs Mexico. Both teams fielded a team that seemed to exclude regular starters, such as Adu and Corey Ashe from USA who were notable absentees and Morrisey, Moodie, Geico(nickname), Miller, Christie and a couple more players from Yard. The USA had the upper hand earlier on, dominating midfield with Jamaica struggling and searching for a rhythm. Just when I thought our goalie looked decent in the last game, he made me nervous again thinking of Mexico because he seemed to lack confidence and a bit shaky. Our defense held their own until our number 9 decided to inject some life in the game by twisting, turning, holding the ball too long and sent back a glorious pass to two unmarked USA players waiting at the edge of our 18 yard box, and one accepted the gift and capitalized on our error...1-0 to rass! We became a little rattled and USA threatened our goal a number of times, penetrating our left back where Chris Williams seemed to be playing out of position a nd was leaking badly, However I must admit that he is a constant worker(Big up to St.Georges massive) and he redeemed himself in the second half when he was moved to midfield and Geico brought in to play left back,who certainly has a lot of promise and is one for the future.

In the second half we made some changes which they instantly impacted the game, pressuring the USA, combining well and creating opportunities. Morrisey was very unlucky not to score at least once when we squandered two great opportunities which seemed like sure goals. He along with Christie troubled the USA defense with some nice runs and play, and they showed me enough potential to know that the rest is now up to the JFF to provide the right tools and environment for these youths to succeed!

The USA then went on to capitalize on two more glaring almost identical errors by our defense, a case of mis-timing the ball which went over his head...resulting in goals, one of them a clinical finish. Presently there are little things within the team which can and must be corrected soon, because they can be the difference between winning and losing. Can the be corrected in time for the Mexico game? Can we get it right in such a short time? Your guess is as good as mine but one thing I do know is that we'll be punished dearly by good teams everytime these lapses happens. Grit and determination can rattle any team, and any team can be beaten, I also believe that this series of games helped them to prepare well and BIG UP to the USA team and all who were responsible for extending a nice welcome to us in their academy. I hope that not only the players but also the coaching staff got some positives from such a great environment. Come on JFF it's time to make a move and let us see your vision!!

Big Up and maximum respect to all the young Reggae Boyz and their coaching staff who were very warm and courteous to us in mingling and posing for pictures. All the best Forever!!!
I would also like to BIG UP Freddy Adu and Corey Ashe for courtesy and display of humility, leaving their bench to come and pose for our cameras in the rain, and chatting sharing jokes after the game. They are real nice kids and I wish them and their team a lot of success.

Sensi....Mexican aztecs! come a Yard come meet the Maroons!...man a
WARRIOR!!! Ambush In The Night!!

Karl Posted - Apr 09 2003 : 01:28:05 AM
Sensi

Greetings from Tampa : U-17 news USA 4 - JAM 0...
Monday, April 07, 2003, 7:21:06 PM

Greetings again Massive, we lost 4-0 to a good USA team but it was much improved performance over our horrible showing on Saturday.

I reached the game 5 minutes into the first half to see our young boyz taking the game to the USA, and as you all imagine I was kind of surprised based on how I felt about the team after Saturday's game. On reaching the field the first thing I did was ask the score and I felt relieved when a journalist covering the game from the Jamaica Observer told me it was nil-nil. I then settled beside Carl Brown and an assistant who were perched atop a high mound of low cut golf course grass over-looking the field like a mini grandstand, to give us a beautiful view of the game. I heard him shouting instructions and saw the players responded but unfortunately I also saw disgust on his face especially after some questionable calls from the ref.

The boyz gave me hope with an encouraging performance...The goalkeeper looked more confident and used his wing backs a lot but was unfortunate to give away a penalty very close to half time with a challenge on a USA player after or defensive error. Adu converted from the spot in a cool manner. Our Defense looked more solid and assured as Moodie was outstanding, so too was the big defender from Wolmers and Benbow. Our number 19 who they nicknamed Geico also played better in the left-back and I was pleased to see him and our other wing back dropping wide to pick up balls from the goalie and building attacks with support from the midfield...I saw none of this on Saturday. Morrisey and Christie displayed some nice skills in getting by their man on a number of occasions which told me that these lads have potential, they all showed better control, passing, running on and off the ball more purpose and even took a number of shots to goal. I would say that we were the more dominant team in the first half and was just unlucky to be behind at the interval.

The coach talked to them, seemed to be working on specifics and really looking to the Mexico game on Sunday, In fact he made it clear that he didn't want them to be concerned about the score and he made changes at the half and continued to do so during the second half. Among the players who entered in the second half were Lynch and Christopher Williams, the USA then went on to score three more goals icluding a fabulous free kick by their #10 that beat our second goalkeeper(don't know his name but he was the shorter of the two). He seemed in command of his area, coming out for balls, shouting instructions like a captain, I wish he had the height of the other.

Adu played very well again but received a bit of pampering from the ref as did other USA players, a whistle per touch. Our players did not let them get away with clean geras this time around and I was happy to see that, also it would have been good to see us getting some calls too. I'm not playing the ref card but I have to say something when I see USA getting all the calls, the ref helpig up theirn players, laughing and chatting with them and so on and so forth. I'm not blaming him for our loss but it would have been nice to see an evenly called game.

Overall I was more encouraged and left with more hope after today's performance and based on that I think the mexicans are in for a fight on Sunday, and although I am feeling better about our team, I'm still waiting for the game on wendesday to give my final thoughts on the team.

Sensi...continue pressing my side, wi naa give up!!

Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club Forums © © 2000 Snitz Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.05 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000